Philly Tales and Trails Smoothie

Yesterday, I ran into the sales rep for Garden of Life at my local Whole Foods.  I had been considering adding protein to my smoothies for an extra boost while running.  I was a bit skeptical to adding “powder” to my smoothie for obvious reason — natural??  Shouldn’t I just have an extra steak or two 😉  So we chatted and here’s the scoop  — it’s certified organic, raw, vegan protein powder. Raw protein provides 17 grams of protein or 33% of what we need daily, plus all essential amino acids. Would I like to try a sample?  Yes, please!  Ok, and you have a coupon for me, too?  Sold!

photo-169Vanilla is the ticket for me…

So on day one of my training moratorium of adult beverages, here’s a smoothie recipe that will surely get you to the finish line…

You will need:

Chia seeds sold by the pound at my local co-op.

photo-168photo-170

I’ve been on the wheatgrass train since last summer.  I found a guru blending smoothies tucked away in the back of Coffee Talk in Stone Harbor, NJ that turned me on to shots of the pure stuff.  I was like an addict all summer long stopping in every morning after my run to knock back the stuff.  Amazing help with muscle recovery!  Whole Foods has wheatgrass juice frozen and will do until I get back to the shore…Memorial Day is just around the corner!

Philly Tales and Trails Smoothie

1/4 cup O.J. plus 1 tablespoon of chia seeds (let sit in blender for 10 minutes)

3 heaping tablespoons of French Vanilla Fat Free Yogurt

1 frozen banana

1 and 1/2 cups of blueberries (I like mine very blueberry and hey, who doesn’t need more antioxidants?)

1/2 scoop of Vanilla Raw Protein

2 containers of wheatgrass (you can’t even taste it!! I swear!)

Honey

Whirl and voila!

photo-171Super delicious!  The chia seeds gives it almost the consistency of pudding.  Is it a smoothie?  A dessert?  Either way, just what I needed to recover from yesterday’s run and to get ready for tomorrow’s 5:00 a.m. wake up to run alarm.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Philly Tales and Trails Smoothie

  1. needleshover says:

    My wife went raw vegan just about a month ago, and grabbed some of the Raw Protein at our local WholeFoods (just opened in Chadds Ford). I love it in smoothies much better than Whey protein. I’m not really too cranked up about the whole raw thing too much, but the quality and digestion is so much better.

    I love the chocolate in a nut butter, banana, almond milk, maca and cacao blend. The vanilla is great in green smoothies too.

Leave a Reply

