NOLA recap and AT&T Back on My Feet 5 Miler

So here’s how I spent the last few days of my Spring Break…

First, getting my seafood on in the Big Easy at Acme Oyster House.

Hey, when in Rome or NOLA…Po-Boys it is!

photo-146 photo-148Fried Peace Maker Po-Boy – Golden fried oysters and shrimp seasoned to perfection, served with Tabasco infused mayo and Chargrilled Oysters loaded with cajun seasoning and Romano cheese — a repeat night at Acme for these bad boys and maybe even a trip down again just for these oysters — they were that delicious!

photo-152A daiquiri, or two to go…it’s daytime, please don’t judge 😉

photo-151

LaSalle proud on Bourbon Street watching the Sweet Sixteen

So with all the eating and drinking, I did manage to squeeze in a little running…There were some great sights on my runs like this early morning sunrise over the Mississippi.  Hmmmm…did I snap this pix on my morning run or was I just coming in from a night on Bourbon Street 😉

Also, some more exciting running news — another 9 minute mile while in New Orleans!!!

photo-156photo-7

The time flew by and before I knew it, it was time to return to the City of Brotherly Love just in time for the AT&T Back On My Feet 5 mile race scheduled for Saturday.  Oh, and yeah, I also had a job to return to on Monday.  Work always seems to get in the way of fun!

photo-150photo-6

What do teachers do for fun on Spring Break? Run 5 miles and then pretend they are Rocky and run up the Art Museum steps! Here’s my times, not great, but not awful.  I was happy to finish the 5 miles in under an hour.  The hill at mile two killed my time and almost me, too!  Thank God, I had my ENERGYbits!  They really helped power me through the hill and the entire race.

Have you tried ENERGYbits yet?  If not, here’s your chance!  ENERGYbits is giving away samples to two lucky readers of Philly Tales and Trails.  Just leave me a comment and tell me how you think ENERGYbits will help your training. I will randomly pick two winners on Friday, April 5.  I know ENERGYbits will be part of my Broad Street Run training.  How about you?

photo-155

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NOLA recap and AT&T Back on My Feet 5 Miler

  1. Kris B. says:

    I have been wanting to try energy bits for a while and would love to get a sample of them to see if they work for me. I play ice hockey and have recently started doing insanity after work and a 1 hour commute. I definitely need an energy kick to help me get through it! I would really appreciate this sample and I am sure that if all I’ve been hearing is true, I will be a returning customer.

  2. I am a regular user of GU energy gels but always looking for an alternative and to see how different products will affect my training. If they have such a great impact on you, I would love to see if I can improve as well! I am starting to work on improving my speed now and an extra kick is ALWAYS appreciated. I would love to try them out if I am picked!

  3. Meaghan says:

    I think energybits will help me make it through the work day and still have energy to fit in a workout!

  4. Carri A. says:

    As a competitive marathoner and the mother of 3 high school athletes, im always looking for healthy things to introduce into our training

Leave a Reply

