A tale of two states, with the help of a bridge…

According to my AccuWeather app, Saturday was a “fair” day for outdoor fitness.  I couldn’t disagree more!  It was a picture perfect day for a run between two states and some great views of the City of Brotherly Love, courtesy of the Benjamin Franklin Bridge.  If you haven’t tried running the bridge, I would highly recommend it.  This 3+ mile round trip from PA to Jersey has a pretty steep incline — bonus — hill work with a view!  The exhilaration you get as you try to keep up with, not just the other runners, but the cars whizzing by, can’t be beat.  Also, the views are spectacular.  Here’s a peak…

photo-132Walkway Entrance – 5th and Race, Philly

photo-133photo-134

View looking south of I-95                                       Walt Whitman Bridge looking south along the Delaware River

photo-135Camden River Sharks Stadium.  Play Ball!

 On the road to Camden with Philly skyline behind me!

photo-136

After the bridge, a trip to Philadelphia Runner was next on the agenda.  I love, love, love this store!  If you are a runner, this place feels like waking up on Christmas morning when you were a kid.  They have everything you could possibly need or want to enhance your running experience — plus a friendly bunch of runners who work here and enjoy sharing their knowledge.  I gotta thank Philadelphia Runner who shared the love and gave a $15 off coupon when you spend $75 to all the Get Your Rear in Gear participants.  Bonus!  I scored two Asics running skirts and a Nike Dry Fit on the sale rack and was even able to use the coupon!  Double Bonus!

photo-138 Even though fools outfits are encouraged, I will be the best dressed runner at the Manayunk Fools Run on April 5, thanks to Philadelphia Runner.  If you are looking for a fun 5K trail run, check this run out.  The out and back run is along the Schuylkill River canal in the Manayunk neighborhood in Philadelphia, and ends with a free beer at the after party at Bourbon Blue.  The proceeds of the run will go to the Danny Craige Foundation, a cause near and dear to my heart.  This Foundation helps Philadelphia area students continue their education.

To register for the 5K, check out www.manayunkfoolsrun.com

To learn more about the Danny Craige Foundation, check out www.dannycraigefoundation.org

Hope to see you at the Manayunk Fools Run on April 5!

This entry was posted in Philadelphia, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A tale of two states, with the help of a bridge…

  1. jenereesa says:

    Awesome new duds! I’m bummed I won’t be able to make it out to Manayunk that day but can’t wait to read about your experience. Have you ever ran the Cooper Norcross Run the Bridge 10k? I did it last year and it ended on Campbell’s field – great race and a good cause. 🙂

    • Kim says:

      No, I haven’t Run the Bridge 10k. Sounds fun! I’m gonna add it to my run bucket list 🙂

      • jenereesa says:

        It’s a great one – eventually I’ll get a recap up up for it. One of my favorite runs I did last year (which is saying a lot since I did 12 in 2012). 🙂

  2. helcha8 says:

    I like the idea of running over the bridge from PA to NJ. Might have to try that. If I don’t have to work April 5th I’d totally like to do the Manayunk Run.. I really like trail running vs road/path running. And I actually prefer the runs with Obstacles as I am pretty stinky at running……
    One day we will have to do an event together Kimba, btw – I scored a sample of ENERGYbits. Haven’t tried them yet – but am totally looking forward to trying them!

  3. What a gorgeous running location! Yay for a great running store, too!

Leave a Reply

