It’s a Comfort Food Kinda Day…

Even though the pansies have sprung in my neighbor’s window box, it’s not feeling so “springy” here in the city of Brotherly Love.  What to do on my first official day of Spring Break when it’s grey and cold and damp outside?  I know…I know…I posted this morning a picture with my feet up all comfy like, but a girl’s gotta eat, right?  I don’t know if it was the miserable weather, or the need to refuel after burning 851 calories at yesterday’s race, or maybe it was the need to clear away all the St. Paddy’s Day celebrating, but I had a hankering for some comfort food.  My running buddy agreed.  Mr. Joe’s Cafe was calling us.  I’ve been trying to get to this little gem in South Philadelphia for a while now — paninis, homemade soups and pastas — sounds like it will fit the bill for our needs today.   Unfortunately, even after consulting the trusty world wide web, Mr. Joe’s Cafe is closed on Mondays 😦

No need to fear…look what was right across the street!

Termini Bros.,  a Philadelphia tradition since 1921.

photo-121photo-123

Immediately, we were greeted with some tasty samples and the fun began.  I was like the proverbial kid in a candy pastry shop.  After much deliberation and samples, I went with the limited edition donut made especially for  St. Joseph’s Day, which is tomorrow.  These should be a score with my son, who happens to have the same name.

With the “comfort” part of the dessert out of the way, lunch was still needed for these hungry runners.  Off to the other side of town to Northern Liberties.  And all I will say is…I’m kinda glad Mr. Joe’s was closed.

photo-120Honey’s Sit ‘n Eat is a Southern/Jewish fusion restaurant serving “Bubby’s” brisket, mashed potatoes, mac and cheese and more!  On yeah,  exactly what the doctor ordered!  Honey’s is also another favorite of Guy Fieri.  Seriously, can Guy be wrong?

photo-119photo-118

I ordered the white meatloaf, homemade mac ‘n cheese, and string bean casserole with real (not out of the can) crispy fried onion rings.  My running buddy tried the “Bubby’s” brisket, sauteed spinach, and mashed potatoes (hello bacon and red skins!).  Comfort food for the win!

photo-122

Dessert while blogging, score for me!  Happy St. Joseph’s Day Eve!

This entry was posted in Philadelphia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s a Comfort Food Kinda Day…

  1. jenereesa says:

    I’ve been meaning to get to Honey’s for years now and just haven’t gotten the opportunity yet. This post is most inspiring to have it happen!

Leave a Reply

