You’ve come a long way, baby! 10K Recap

What better way for this Irish girl from Philly to kick off her St. Patrick’s Day celebration but with a 10k!  And even better yet, for this colon cancer survivor to run her first 10K EVER in the Get Your Rear in Gear, a race to bring awareness to colon cancer!

photo-113

All Shamrock’d up and ready to run wearing my good luck Gaelic sash specially made by my friend, Patricia, from across the pond, along with #keepingittight with my ProCompression socks.

I can’t believe that just two years ago, I was a walker in this race while going through chemotherapy, hoping to be well enough to run the 5K, never dreaming of running the 10K.  “You’ve come a long way, baby!”

photo-112Memorial Hall, a new location for the race.  I will admit to some pre-race jitters the night before and at the start.

photo-114 All the jitters were quickly gone with the cheers and high fives I got from other racers and the crowd as I ran by wearing my survivor race bib.  At one point, they brought tears to my eyes, but gave me the extra boost when I needed it most.

photo-1

So here’s the results…fueled by ENERGYbits, I PR’d at the 5k mark with a time of 33:53!!! All I can say is — WOW!

photo-4The hill at the last mile was a killer!  Maybe a few more ENERGYbits at the midway point would have helped?  But as another racer pointed out, we could sure feel the burn in our bums as we powered uphill. Who doesn’t need a little work in that area?

All in all, I was pretty happy with my results.  I finished with a time of 1:12:36 with a average mile pace of 11:42 and a new PR in a 5k!

So what do you do after you run 6.2 miles on St. Patrick’s Day?  Celebrate!

photo-111Refueling at The Bard’s with an Irish Breakfast and a Guinness.  For any non-Irish, an Irish breakfast includes: eggs, Irish bacon and sausage, baked beans, black and white pudding (not really pudding but sausage like meat…I will admit to not being a fan of the black pudding, cause it’s kinda gross and made with the blood of the animals — YUCK!), grilled tomato and toast with Irish butter.  Yummo!  Lots of protein and the Guinness is even good for you!  And if you don’t believe it, stop by the Guinness factory in Dublin.  They have an entire floor dedicated to the medicinal purposes of Guinness.  I believe it!

After The Bard’s we headed over to one of my favorite Irish pubs in Philly, Finnegan’s Wake, to raise a pint and listen and dance to the sounds of The Hooligans.  Even after running 6.2 miles, I was ready to get my Irish step dancing on.  I even met Irish Elvis!

photo-110

photo-109

So here’s what I will be doing today to celebrate the day after the running of my first 10K and the first official day of my Spring Break…

photo-117

This entry was posted in Philadelphia, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You’ve come a long way, baby! 10K Recap

  1. Maureen says:

    Congratulations on a great race! Such an inspiration. Enjoy spring break!

    • Kim says:

      Thanks, Maureen! I’m hoping to run every day this Spring Break. Well, with today as an exception, as a rest day. Mostly from St. Patrick’s Day shenanigans, not running 😉

Leave a Reply

