What’s been happening?

I’ve been slacking a bit from blogging.  Life’s been crazy busy with end of trimester report card writing and, of course, running.  So here’s a recap of what’s been happening since my last post…

I was super excited to win these yummy Perfect 10 Kookies from http://jillwillrun.com/  These little morsels of deliciousness are made from all natural ingredients, dairy-free, gluten-free and sweetened with agave!  The cookie is available at Momofuku Milk Bar in New York City.   Sweetest part of this cookie — 30 percent of the proceeds go to FEED!   Even though I said #notsharing…I brought these goodies into school and not a crumb was left behind.  Thanks, Jill.  Report card writing was a piece of cake!

photo-82

photo-83
Oh, and how excited was I to come home the next day to a delivery of my new ProCompression Marathon Socks!  Took these babies out for a test spin the next morning.  I was not sure they could live up to the hype that I read about on so many blogs, but for 50% off, I was willing to give them a whirl.  After just 3 miles, I was in LOVE!  My legs felt energized, but it was more than that…almost like a mini massage was happening as I ran.  Honestly, I didn’t want to stop running or ever take these bad boys off.  I ran home and immediately ordered a pair of the Shamrock Marathon edition that I will be sporting for my St. Paddy’s Day 10K.  I was so lucky to score a pair before these limited edition socks ran out.  All my Irish runner friends are going to be green with envy.
Speaking of Irish, I ran the Edgar’s Irish March to Save the Beach.  This two mile fun run was an awesome way to run at my favorite shore town, and also help restore the Jersey shore.  I finished the first mile in a respectable 10:37.  The second mile was a bit difficult.  The race was run on the Coast Guard base in Sea Girt, New Jersey.  It was paved for part of the race, but the last half was over a rocky terrain.  This slowed me down and cost me a full minute on the second mile. I finished with a time of 22:15 and was ready for the fun part of the race.

photo-84  Post race hydration…Guinness, it’s good for you!

photo-85 The fun began back at the pub.  A big thank you to Edgar’s Pub for providing this hungry runner with a breakfast of champions.

photo-86 You know you are in Sea Girt when you see this sign and can’t help but 🙂

photo-88A little bit of Philly in Sea Girt!

photo-87My favorite spot on the Sea Girt beach.  Who cares there’s a little sand in my sneakers.  A bit chilly, but the sweatshirt race swag came in handy.

Speaking of sand brings me wonderful memories of my favorite Aunt Mame.  Today is International Women’s Day.  A day to celebrate the strong women in your life.  I am celebrating my “darling” Aunt Mame whose strength, grace, and love will be forever a part of who I am.  This one is for you Mamie…

photo-91

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

