ENERGYbits – WOW!

For those who have been following my blog, you know that I am new to this world.  I began my blog as a way to document my road to a healthy lifestyle after recovering from colon cancer and my running of the Broad Street Run.  So it came as a major surprise when the super nice people at ENERGYbits contacted me to try their product.  I checked out their website to find their product is 100% organic and NOT a supplement.  Yes, please!  Bring it on!

photo-92

ENERGYbits are 100% organic spirulina algae and have the highest concentration of protein in the world!  There’s no additives, no chemicals, caffeine, sugar, gluten or artificial ingredients!  A handful of ENERGYbits gives adults all the nutrition and protein they need for the day.  It is said that algae is used by Olympic athletes and NASA astronauts.  Well, if it’s powering this level of athletes and going to the moon, it’s gotta help this newbie runner finish the Broad Street Run.

After my research, you can imagine my excitement when my ENERGYbits arrived yesterday, just in time for my long run today.  They came in this handy little travel tin.  Perfect for race day.

photo-93When I opened the tin, I was immediately transported back to the beach.  The algae gave off the pleasant smell (well, at least to this Jersey Shore girl), of low tide.  Yup, it’s real algae!  Reading over the info that was included, I again was excited by the health benefits of ENERGYbits.  Since spirulina is a nitrogen based algae, and since nitric oxide opens up your blood vessels, taking ENERGYbits will give your brain and body a steady and natural supply of oxygen and nourishment.  I went to sleep dreaming of PR’s and qualifying for the Boston Marathon…

My alarm went off bright and early and I was dragging myself out of bed.  I wasn’t very hungry, but knew I was running five miles and should have something to eat before I run.  No fear, ENERGYbits to the rescue!  I knocked back 30 (the suggested amount) of these little algae power bits and noticed immediately my pre-dawn foggy head begin to lift.  I was ready to hit the pavement.  I have a confession…I normally am a runner who walks a bit during my runs.  I can usually make it to about a mile and a half and need to take a walk break.  Not today, thanks to ENERGYbits!  I was able to run two and a half miles before I felt the need to walk.  I took barely a 30 second walk break and made it to 5k without stopping my run again.  When I checked my time at 3.1 miles, I was at 35.31!  Yes, this is a PR for me.  Thank you, ENERGYbits!  I continued running along, singing to the Motown Pandora station and the 5 miles flew by.  I finished under an hour at 59.25!  This is half way to Broad Street time.  If I could keep this up for the second half of Broad Street, I will reach my goal of finishing the ten miler in under two hours!  All I have to say is WOW!  I will never leave my house again for a run without the power of ENERGYbits…

photo-94 If you want to learn more about ENERGYbits, check them out at http://www.energybits.com.  Also, if you want to get #PoweredbyBits, ENERGYbits is offering a 10% discount on any of their bags of bits!  Just enter the word “BLOG” into the coupon box.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ENERGYbits – WOW!

  1. Hailey Owen says:

    Wow! I need some of these! You go girl!

  2. helcha8 says:

    Where can we get energy bits?

    • Kim says:

      Helen, If you want to get #PoweredbyBits, ENERGYbits is offering a 10% discount on any of their bags of bits! Go to their website http://www.energybits.com and enter the word “BLOG” into the coupon box. ENERGYbits will be perfect for your upcoming Mud Run!

  3. Awesome review, thanks Kim!!

  4. Pingback: ENERGYbits | What Would Helen Eat ?

Leave a Reply

